Enjoy Kapampangan cuisine at Apag Marangle

My friends and I did Visita Iglesia in Bulacan and Pampanga a few years back, and we stopped at Apag Marangle (Kapampangan for “dining in the farm”) in Bacolor because one of my friends is Kapampangan and knows the owner of the place. Because it was a Maundy Thursday and already late, we were not able to eat at Apag. The place though had made an impression on me. I always like nipa huts and stuff made of bamboo. I intended to go another day to try their food but never got around to doing so because even if Pampanga is just next to Bulacan where I am based, my place is actually closer to NCR.

Recently I learned that Apag Marangle has opened a branch in Park Square in Makati City. My nephew Ace and I went there two Fridays ago. We ordered nasi Marangle, ningnang hito, chicharon, and buko pandan juice.

Refreshing buko pandan in a jar (good for 2  persons) and chicharon
Refreshing buko pandan in a jar (good for 2 persons) and chicharon
Nasi Marangle
Nasing Marangle (This is half, which is good for 2-3 persons.)
Ningnang hito
Ningnang hito with tamarind dip

There are so much more on the menu such as adobong camaru (stewed crickets) and betute tugak (stuffed frog), pork (babi), chicken (manuk), and seafood dishes. Because Apag will cook the food only after one has ordered, one can pre-order through text or call.

Not only did we enjoy the food and the place, we also learned some Kapampangan words from the menu, making us appreciate the diversity of the Filipino culture.

Apag Marangle is located at the ground floor, Park Square Carpark Bldg, Ayala Center, Makati City. The main branch is at Sta. Barbara, Bacolor, Pampanga, while another branch is at the MarQuee Mall, Angeles City.

4 thoughts on “Enjoy Kapampangan cuisine at Apag Marangle

    1. Apag Marangle has just been featured last night in Ang Pinaka show on GMA News TV–No. 1 Pinaka-Yummy sa Pampanga 🙂 I hope you get to check the main branch out. I still plan to go as I haven’t tried the crickets and the frogs.

Leave a Reply

