Experiencing Japan Through JENESYS 2.0: The Dream

Everyone who really knows me knows how crazy I am about Japan. I can’t exactly pinpoint when and how my interest in Japan started, but I think that TV and films have something to do with it. Perhaps it began when I was young, from watching Astroboy, Voltes V, Bioman, and Shaider.  At university, I got hooked on cinema, and was in awe after watching Kurosawa’s Dreams. As the list of Japanese films I saw gets longer, the more I wanted to go to Japan. I even started taking Nihongo classes in the hope that someday, I will get fluent enough to watch films and TV dramas without any English subtitles.

But for many years, going to Japan remained a dream. There was the financial aspect, and the visa concern. For an ordinary citizen like myself, it is not exactly a walk in the park to save enough money and secure a tourist visa to Japan. But with the recent changes in visa regulations and budget-friendly airfares, the trip has become more feasible. I was about to buy a promo fare ticket already, but when it was my turn, there was no more available seat. I supposed I had to wait for the next promo.

Until my friend Ivy stumbled upon another way for me to realize my dream. She shared with me the National Youth Commission’s call for application to the JENESYS 2.0 Cultural Exchange Program. Initially I thought it was a long shot, but nonetheless a shot worth taking. I emailed my application. This was in October 2013.

Fast forward to December 1, 2013 and I was at the NYC Conference Room with 21 individuals who are as crazy as I am (if not crazier haha!) about Japan.

PreDeparture
Wacky shot of Team Pilipinas with officials of the Embassy of Japan in the Philippines and the National Youth Commission taken after the Predeparture Orientation at the NYC office, December 1, 2013
16 thoughts on “Experiencing Japan Through JENESYS 2.0: The Dream

    1. Hi violity! Salamat sa pagbasa ng post 🙂
      Actually, quarterly (yata) ang JENESYS since last year. As far as I know, there was a batch that went in September, while my batch was sent in December. May call for application ngayon for anime, manga, and cosplay enthusiasts. Kindly check ncca.gov.ph for application requirements.
      Hope you get an opportunity to take part in the program.
      Salamat ulit!

  1. Hi! Tanong ko lang kung ano yung criteria nila sa pagpili? Ngayon kasi ang theme Anime, Manga, and Cosplay tapos may sinasabi sila tungkol sa mga nagmmajor sa animation, illustration, or design. Kailangan ba talaga nagmmajor ka sa isa dun or ok na yung gusto mo ng Anime and Manga at marunong mag Japanese? Thanks!

    1. Hi Hiki-san. Sorry for the late reply.
      Based on the call for application post on ncca.gov.ph, “Target applicants: Students who have strong interest in Japanese culture related to MANGA, animation, and costume player, as well as those majoring in animation, illustration, design.” Not necessarily major in the areas mentioned, although may advantage siguro kung major dun. Saka “Submission of portfolio of works is highly encouraged,” so I suppose kasama ito sa criteria for selection.
      If you meet the requirements, apply ka na. It’s worth a shot.

  2. hello po ! I’m Hannah Katrina Hendeve & i want to join here kaso wala pa po kong passport which is required , pwede pa rin po ba akong magaaply tapos isunod ko na lang po ung passport if ever na makuha ko .. arigatou ! 🙂

  3. HI ! I am maricris. i want to join here but i don’t passport yet, which is one of the requirements . pwede po kaya iyon?

  4. Hi! Super natuwa naman ako sa blog mo. Nafeel ko sayo yung same feeling ko ngayon! 🙂 Like you, I am head over heels for Japan. Actually kakapasa ko lang for the next batch. Kaso, nag-aalangan ako kung sufficient ba na thru online lang ako nagpasa. What did you pass to make them chose you to be one of the delegates? You are so lucky! 🙂

    1. Hi HanaMari-san! Salamat sa pagbasa ng blog. Ok lang ang online submission; online din ako nagsubmit. From what I know, depende sa focus ng program at sa partner agency ang selection. Dwell in the possibility 🙂 Good luck sa iyo!

  5. Hello! Just wanna ask, pano pumuntang NYC Office and what time kaya nagsstart ang Predeparture orientation. Thaaaaaaanks 🙂

    1. Hi there!

      Congrats for being chosen!

      Where will you be coming from? Along Quezon Avenue yung NYC. You can take any jeep from SM North na Quiapo-bound. Pag galing ka ng West Avenue, nasa right side yung Bookman Bldg, lagpas lang ng konti sa may Banaue (may McDo sa may Banaue corner Quezon Avenue, Ma Mon Luk on the other side).

      So kapag galing ka ng Manila, take any jeep/FX na Fairview or SM North-bound.

      After lunch ang alam ko, around 1 pmish. But have you been in touch with other delegates? You may want to meet earlier para sa practice.

      We will be there to meet you guys.

      See you on the 25th!

      1. Super thanks po. Wala pa po akong kilala sa ibang delegates eh, I’m from Davao pa kasi and I’ll be staying at my aunt’s house, di ko po talaga kabisado ang manila hehe one more question po, what time po kaya natatapos ang orientation? 🙂

      2. Around 5 pm matatapos yung orientation. Saang area yung aunt mo? If you need any help/further directions, message ka lang dito or email me tesha.adaon(at)gmail.com. Ja ne!

Leave a Reply

