Looking back, looking forward

Janus, the ancient Roman god in whose honor January was named, has two faces: one looking back and another looking forward. That’s how I spent the first day of the new year. Looking back, I have so many things to be grateful for in 2013. In February I started a new job through which I met awesome new friends. After nearly four years, I resumed Nihongo classes in May. In November, I won a contest sponsored by Uniqlo and toured Puerto Princesa and El Nido, Palawan. I finally realized my long-cherished dream of experiencing Japan last December.
But 2013 started and ended with death in our family. In January we laid Auntie Crising, Tatay’s eldest sibling, to rest. In December, we laid Tatay to rest.
It’s only January 2 as I am writing this, but I am anticipating a number of changes. Every year, I have friends moving to another workplace or another country. My friend Simon is going to Rwanda this month for a two-year project. I’m still lousy at goodbyes but now, I worry less about leaving or being left behind. As I have proven time and again, my friendships can transcend separation in time and distance.
Some years back I have written in my journal about the core of my being, and I’m happy to note that I have been upholding it through the years. This is why whatever 2014 has in store for me, I can look forward with a smile.

Leave a Reply

