My 2011 in numbers

As I welcome 2012, I flipped through my 2011 Angel-in-us planner to see what have kept me occupied last year. I must admit that I had better years than 2011, but it definitely had its awesome moments. In the spirit of my random lists and what-nots, I present my 2011 in numbers:

16–Units I taught in my first semester as a college instructor. I have taught high school and grade school before, so in 2011, I thought I’d try to teach in college. I was fortunate enough to be accepted to teach mathematics and chemistry. Like before, I had some trouble with teaching lab (Students accidentally breaking glassware caused me some stress), but teaching again made me realize just how much I enjoy it. I also thought I want some face time with my friends, so I came back to not one but two of my old workplaces. Talk about going in circles eh? In a good way of course ๐Ÿ™‚

16–Gigs I attended. I think this number would have been higher if Sugarfree did not disband in the earlier part of the year. I learned about the disbandment through Tina, and I would have cried that moment if I were not in the middle of a supermarket. How I love Sugarfree and their music, and how I miss seeing them perform together! The final gig in Eastwood last March was totally emotional. Imagine standing for hours in the pouring rain, listening to sad love songs? T-T

Despite the disbandment of three of my beloved bands (the other two are Bamboo and REM), I still had my Pinoy music fix all year round courtesy of Johnoy Danao’s Dapithapon, Noel Cabangon’s Panaginip, Pupil’s Limiters of the Infinity Pool, Ebe Dancel’s Dalawang Mukha ng Pag-ibig, and RockEd’s Rock Rizal, whose tracks you can download from here. Oh, and guess who was with me at Ebe’s album launch and at the Rock Rizal gig? Nanay ๐Ÿ™‚

14–Rapids in my first water rafting experience in the City of Golden Friendship, Cagayan De Oro. This trip was made possible through the generosity of a friend, which made it really special.Throw in some football action with crazy/awesome fans, mad ukay-ukay at Divisoria, eco-trail walk/run, and sumptuous dinner treat by Sir Hector and his family to the whitewater rafting adventure, and what did I get? Crazy/fun!

Conquering the rapids of Cagayan river

I really had a wonderful time at CDO so it was devastating when I learned how much damage Sendong had done to it as well as to Iligan and other nearby areas. I am grateful to those who are tirelessly working to help the survivors. We can all do something to help. Click here if you want to help Sendong survivors through the Philippine Red Cross.

10–Football games I saw live. If 2008 was a year of travel; 2009, music; and 2010, hospital stay, 2011 was a year of the beautiful game for me. Since seeing my first full game on TV in February, I have seen games at the University of Makati field, Rizal Memorial Stadium, and Pelaez Stadium in CDO. The most memorable one for me so far was against Sri Lanka for the World Cup qualifiers. Such an epic win for the Azkals!

Sakka ga daisuki desu.

My football craziness has gone beyond the national team. For example, I woke up at 5 AM to catch El Clasico. My wish list now includes Lionel Messi and Homare Sawa kits. Paging fairy godmother/father *wink*wink*

8–Pinoy films I watched in cinemas. I know this number is low, but I think it is an improvement for me from previous years. I particularly enjoyed Jerrold Tarog’s Senior Year and Jade Castro’s Zombadings 1: Patayin sa Shokot si Remington. Why did it feel like Eugene Domingo was in all the Pinoy films I saw in 2011? She was in four of eight ๐Ÿ™‚

I missed quite a number of highly recommended films due to time and financial constraints. I hope they would be available in original DVD so that I can still see them.

7–Running events I participated in. I ran mostly for causes I believed in, but there were a couple of events I joined because I wanted to run with a friend (Yakult run) or to run at night (Energizer Night Run).

Running is one of the things I want to do seriously for 2012. Two of my closest friends are training for their first full marathon. Can I do half in September? *thinks* *smiles*

4–Locations from where I saw Mayon Volcano. I find it strange though that in a place where Mayon is the main attraction, I was not able to find a good postcard of it for my cousin Angel. We both saw Wong Kar Wai’s My Blueberry Nights so we thought we would send postcards to each other from wherever we are. I actually did this even before, but I sent the postcard to a different person each time haha!

Anyways, the volcano is indeed a beauty. It is visible from many areas in Legazpi City but my best view was from Lignon Hill Park early in the morning. Nanay and I also viewed it from the Cagsawa Ruins, Embarcadero de Legazpi, and Mayon Planetarium.

Hello Mayon, it’s me Tesha.

3–Davids I came to see in person. Those would be David Archuleta, David Beckham, and David Choi. More music and more football, yey!The saddest thing is my wallet’s condition ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

1/2–Book I wrote. This one has caused me unnecessary grief and anxiety. I know that I should be proud of it and grateful for the opportunity, but I think I will be more grateful and prouder of my future works (talaga lang! haha!)

In between I have countless manuscript pages, test questions, caffeine and sugar intake, K-dramas, J-doramas, and real-life dramas. So what’s in store for 2012? More of the awesome stuff I hope.

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “My 2011 in numbers

Leave a Reply

