Top of the world with Shonen Knife

Top of the bayside ledge at the San Miguel by the Bay in SM Mall of Asia was more like it, but I am not complaining. In fact, I am still a bit giddy over watching the all-female J-rock group Shonen Knife from Osaka, Japan.

From L to R: Ritsuko on bass and vocals, Naoko on guitar and vocals, Etsuko on drums

Shonen Knife brings back for me memories of early MTV Asia (wala pa nung Myx hehe~) where their MV for “Banana Chips” got considerable airplay. The band turned out to have more songs about food like “BBQ Party” and “Sushi Bar” which endeared them to me all the more. I sang my heart out to one of the songs’ two-word chorus: “Pig out!”, and of course to their version of The Carpenters’ “Top of the World.”

Pedicab and Duster too

Watching Shonen Knife for free was a treat. Triple treat actually because Pedicab and Duster performed as well. “Simulan mo na ang dapat mong ginawa nung umpisa/Gawin mo na ang dahilan na pinanganak ka” from Pedicab’s “Simulan” are my and my nephew Ace’s favorite lines. Finally, I got to have my picture taken with Diego, Jason, and RA and his guitars.

With RA Rivera and his Shonen Knife-signed Hello Kitty and Badtz guitars

Thanks, Chaos-san, Oasis-san, Nightwing-san, and Hiro-san for a great time, and to Japan Foundation Manila for bringing Shonen Knife to Manila for Nihongo Fiesta 2010. You guys rock! \m/

One thought on “Top of the world with Shonen Knife

  1. Banana chips for me! Banana chips for you! Hahaha. 😀 Buti ka pa, nakapanood. We totally forgot about the concert 😛

Leave a Reply

