The longest two weeks

I just had the most nerve-wracking experience in my life. Nanay got seriously sick and stayed at the hospital for two weeks. She had abdominal pains, which we initially thought was the usual kind. Whenever she had it before, antacid usually worked. But not this time. Over the next couple of days she had fever and chills, then jaundice, which caused us to panic and rush her to ER. Two ultrasounds, some blood tests, and an endoscopy procedure later, she finally underwent cholecystectomy, a surgical procedure to remove her gall bladder as well as the gall stone blocking her bile duct, causing a condition called ascending cholangitis.

Nursing is caring

In the last two weeks, I felt like I took a crash course in surgery, nursing, and caregiving. With my minute background in human anatomy and great faith in divine providence, I had to decide which treatment option was best for my most favorite rock star of all-time. It is a good thing that she had a great surgical team. I wish I could say the same thing about some of the nurses and nursing students I have encountered during Nanay’s stay at the hospital.

At my high school career orientation, a nurse once said that nursing is caring. I think some nursing students are clueless about it, and even some of those who are officially in the profession forget this basic premise. Don’t get me wrong, a number of nurses I met rocked. Nurse Nash is so cheerful I know he is smiling even if he has a face mask on. Nurses Elvie, Ailene, and Arvi Ann clearly know what nursing is all about. Maybe it is none of my business, but it really bothers me that some people go into nursing just so they can work abroad. Nursing is not just a job, and I do not want just a skilled nurse to look after my rock star. I want a nurse who cares and is patient. (And now I know why the patient is called such haha~)

Grateful

There are too many people to thank, people who bear with me in the longest two weeks of my life. I want to thank those who generously lent me money without knowing exactly when I could pay them back. Those who prayed for Nanay and the whole family. I felt loved, and I am really grateful. 

3 thoughts on “The longest two weeks

  1. Tess, sorry hindi ko nabalitaan na nagkasakit si Nanay. Kumusta na siya?
    Please let me know if there’s anything I can help you with. God bless.

    1. Nanay is recovering well, thank God. They had to do a T-tube chole so she had something (two actually) sticking out from her abdomen. They removed one of them last Friday, and the other one two weeks from now.
      It is really great having people like you in my life who can help me overcome trials like this one. Let’s continue praying for good health for our folks 🙂 God bless!

Leave a Reply

