The joys of origami

For a few weeks now, I am rediscovering the joys of origami, the Japanese art of paper folding. I used to know how to make a paper crane, even attempted to make a thousand paper cranes like what a character in the book Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes did, but I never got around to finish this project. Then I moved on to other interests.
But on a recent visit to National Book Store, I saw some origami books on display. The books have colorful, attractive covers and are rather inexpensive. The catch: the instructions are in Japanese, and although I am learning Nihongo, they are still beyond my comprehension. However, the pictures seem adequate enough for me to follow, so I bought one book, たべものをおる, to try out.

Origami book and paper
Origami book and paper

So far, I can do pineapple, tomato, carrot, mushroom, candy and candy cane, and hotdog sandwich. I have not even done everything in the book and I already bought my second origami book, Origami with Dollar Bills. My nephew Ace and I use play money though 🙂

My second origami book is a steal at Php50
My second origami book is a steal at Php50

Cutting 6 by 6 paper is a de-stressing activity in itself, but I am glad to finally find the paper available at NBS. I hope to post my finished projects here. Got origami tips and tricks? I will appreciate some. ありがとうございます!

8 thoughts on “The joys of origami

  1. ninang tesha,

    i will be glad if you will teach tatay origami. for a long time now, he can only make paper boats and paper planes for me.

    🙂

    1. Thanks, Teacher Tina! Add kita sa blogroll ha?
      Pasit in po ako sa HELE kapag knitting na. I’ll master origami in the meantime 🙂

  2. Go get the origami papers at Hatchin! They come in many sizes and colors and designs 😀 The books I got from Goodwill already came with pre-cut paper & they are actually instruction + story books. OK no? After mo gumawa ng origami, use the origami to tell a story. Now if I can only remember where I stashed the books…

    1. Those books are cool! I hope you remember where you stashed them. あなたのほんをみてもいいですか。
      Yup, I already bought some 3 by 3 origami paper at Hatchin. They were the only ones available when I dropped by. Hopefully, 6 by 6 paper is available when I go there again.

Leave a Reply

