Kore wa watashi no Nintendo DS Lite desu

Yey! It is Christmas in September for me. After weeks of eyeshopping, I got my Nintendo DS Lite from my cousin Angela through J’s sister last Friday. Between the two popular handhelds, why did I pick the DS?

Language learning tool

Before attending Nihongo classes, I did not have any plan to buy a handheld. I was never into playing handhelds or PC games because I have poor hand-eye coordination. When teaching us hiragana, Cat-sensei asked who among the class members have a DS because it can be used for writing practice. It turned out that there are a number of Nihongo learning software for the DS such as the Kageyama Method – Dennou Hanpuku: Tadashii Kanji Kaki to Rikun and the 200-Mannin no KanKen: Tokoton Kanji Nou. That definitely got me interested to check out the DS.

Nihongo is not the only foreign language that can be practiced using the DS. When I asked Angela what she thought about my getting a DS, it turned out she already has one. She uses it to study Spanish using My Spanish Coach developed by Ubisoft. Ubisoft also developed My French Coach and My Chinese Coach, while My Japanese Coach is due for release today, September 21st.

Game and quiz shows

But all study and no play will make Ashte dull, right? I might as well throw some games in my DS. The kind I enjoy are those designed after game or quiz shows such as Are You Smarter than a 5th Grader? and Who Wants to be a Millionaire?. Both games are available for the DS. As of this writing, I have yet to win a million dollars. The highest score I managed for AYSTFG was $500,000. I opted not to answer the million dollar question (and the red light was on anyway). (Hmmm, the AC adapter says 120 V. Can I plug it in 220 V? I better not ne?)

Happiness!

Having a new “toy” makes me happy. What makes my DS special is that a number of people exerted effort so that I can get one and hopefully optimize its use. I am grateful for having such people in my life. Hontouni arigatou gozaimasu!

4 thoughts on “Kore wa watashi no Nintendo DS Lite desu

  1. Tesha-san, so happy for you!! I hope Kats-san can DL the Nihongo stuff for you. Just tell him to get the Kageyama one that’s with ใ—ใ‚‡ใ†ใŒใใ‹ใ‚“ on it, because the other one is for junior high school (I think). ENJOY!!!
    PS: Let me know when you have the Japanese Coach already, hehe.

  2. I will let you know at once when I get Japanese Coach ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks again for all the input. Nintendo should put you in their payroll already for all the promo and PR work you have done hehe

  3. I am smarter than a 5th grader haha! Actually, I had more help than what the 5th graders provided. Good thing L knew that a rhino tusk is just an extension of its skin, and hence is made of keratin, and not of ivory like that of an elephant.

Leave a Reply

