My favorite things at the 29th MIBF

The 29th Manila International Book Fair is ongoing at the SMX Convention Center, Mall of Asia Complex, Pasay City until September 16th. I went there yesterday after my Nihongo class to check out our booth and have my fill of some of my favorite things.

Upon entering SMX, I checked the exhibit of 25 best loved children’s book characters whose sculptures were done by members of Ang Ilustrador ng Kabataan (Ang InK). Ang InK members did an amazing job scaling the characters to that size. I am happy to note that I have read most of the books where the characters came from. Santa Butsekik, Ang Unang Baboy sa Langit; Kas, Ang Barumbadong Bus; and Emang Engkantada at ang Tatlong Haragan were special to me because they were created by multi-awarded author Rene O. Villanueva who had been my teacher for at least 8 weeks (I dropped out of his class because I lacked the necessary focus to write children’s stories at the time).

Santa Butsekik
Ang Unang Baboy sa Langit: Santa Butsekik
Kas
Ang Barumbadong Bus: Kas
Si Emang Engkantada at ang Tatlong Haragan
Si Emang Engkantada at ang Tatlong Haragan

After taking pictures of the sculptures, I paid the entrance fee of Php10. That left me with Php990 to spend for books.

Psicom Publishing

I used to buy Superman and Batman comic books regularly, but hard times call for some measures. Comic books and action figures gotta give. So I look forward to MIBF every year because I get to buy DC Heroes and DC Kids for such a steal: a set of four for Php100. My comic reading buddies (my nephews) look forward to this time of the year too.

Psicom Publishing has indeed grown over the years and now has more products to sell, and I just had to ask if they have Johns/Busiek/Woods/Guedes’ Up, Up, and Away which of course they did. How could I leave those wonderful illustrations by Renato Guedes behind? I also got a copy of japanese Cuisine and Sushi is not the only Japanese word you should know. Damage to wallet at this point: Php680.

Other buys

Sandwich is on the cover of the September 2008 issue of Myx Mag, and Ilo-ilo food is featured on March 2008 issue of Food Magazine. I found a Tagalog version of Manga Messiah which was tagged Php120, but was given to me at Php100 (It costs Php185 at NBS). Then I passed by this booth:

Argh! I have to tell Angela about the Pilot Feed with built in correction tape (Php170+). I did not buy one because I used up my MIBF allowance already. I bought Pilot Eno lead refill though. Angela got the Pilot Feed GP3 I am using  now at the Alpha Store in Namdaemun. Unlike the more popular Pilot GTech, the Feed is not gel pen, and although it is 0.7, it writes like that of a 0.5 or even a 0.3.

For book lovers out there, the MIBF 2008 is an event you should not miss. You may even see your favorite celebrity. I knew someone who went home happy because he finally got to have a picture taken with Art Angel herself, Miss Pia Arcangel. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My favorite things at the 29th MIBF

Leave a Reply

